Posted: Saturday, November 12, 2016

This weeks GCS “Players of the Week” celebrates our 2016 State Championship Cross Country Teams!

Riverside Cross CountryRiverside Girls Cross Country – Riverside won the Class AAAAA state title by more than 60 points and all seven runners finished in the top 15 and were named All-State.  Cate Ambrose finished 1st overall with a time of 18:35.  Top finishers: Abigail Smith 3rd, Jessi Crowley 5th, Mikie Harris 7th, Carter Marchbanks 10th, Ashley Fallow 11th and Anna Yang 12th.  This was the 4th straight title for the Riverside Girls Cross Country team.

Riverside Boys Cross Country  - The Riverside boys team made it a Warrior sweep in AAAAA by holding off Wando for the boys title.  Ben Cignarle (4th) and Andrew Castano (7th) finished on the All-State team.  Top finishers: Neel Taber 17th, Harper Harris 31st and Will Kennedy 34th.

Eastside Cross CountryEastside Girls Cross Country – Four points separated 1st from 3rd in the Class AAAA girls race and Eastside hung on to win (63) over Daniel (65) and Hilton Head (69).  Olivia Henn (3rd), Madison Ellis (5th) and Bridget Wilson (11th) made All-State.  Carson Davis (17th) and Lindsay Hannah (27th) rounded out the scoring for the Eagles.

Congratulations to Riverside girls and boys and the Eastside girls on their 2016 State Championships in Cross Country!

Here are other athletes recognized with post-season honors in cross country, girls golf and girls tennis:

Austin Terault, Blue Ridge XC – Shrine Bowl Run

Robert Tinsley, Eastside XC – Shrine Bowl Run

Lindsey Hannah, Eastside XC – Shrine Bowl Run

Bryan Leavitt, Hillcrest XC – Shrine Bowl Run

Ben Cignarle, Riverside XC – Shrine Bowl Run

Will Kennedy, Riverside XC – Shrine Bowl Run

Neel Taber, Riverside XC – Shrine Bowl Run

Cate Ambrose, Riverside XC – State Runner of the Year, Girls

Ashley Fallow, Riverside High – Shrine Bowl Run

Mikie Harris, Riverside XC – Shrine Bowl Run

Abigail Smith, Riverside XC – Shrine Bowl Run

Noemi Gutierrez, Southside XC – Shrine Bowl Run

John Ward, Wade Hampton XC – State Runner of the Year, Boys

Alaina Riordan, Wade Hampton XC – Shrine Bowl Run

Colt Griffith, Woodmont XC – Shrine Bowl Run

Antonio Williams, Woodmont XC – Shrine Bowl Run

Ashlee Richardson, Greenville Golf – 2016 North/South Golf All-Star

Beth Ann Townsend, Travelers Rest Golf – 2016 North/South All-Star

Sheila Walsh, Mauldin Tennis – 2016 North/South Tennis All-Star

Email this page. Print this page.

More Stories