Posted: Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Ten finalists have been selected in the 2013-14 Greenville County Schools Teacher of the Year program.   

They are, in alphabetical order:  Angie Cooley, music teacher at Mitchell Road Elementary; Anne Kelsey-Zibert, seventh grade social studies teacher at Northwest Middle; Adam Massey, business teacher at Greer High; Libba Mattison, science teacher at J. L. Mann High Academy; Clint Nalley, seventh grade science teacher at Bryson Middle; Alyson Nelson, anatomy and biology teacher at Mauldin High; Kim Phillips, special education teacher at Bethel Elementary; Tom Rogers, science and math teacher at Southside High Academy; Mandy Waters, first grade teacher at Westcliffe Elementary; and Jan Woodward, dance teacher at The Fine Arts Center.

Profile of Top Ten Teachers

Angie Cooley - Click to enlarge. Anne Kelsey-Zibert - Click to enlarge Adam Massey - Click to enlarge Libba Mattison - Click to enlarge Clint Nalley - Click to enlarge.
Angie Cooley,
K-5th Grade Music, Mitchell Road Elementary
Total Years of Teaching Experience - 15
Education – Bachelor’s - Music Education, Western Carolina University
Anne Kelsey-Zibert
7th Grade Social Studies World History, Northwest Middle
Total Years of Teaching Experience – 9
Education – Bachelor’s - History, Princeton University; Master’s - History, Clemson University
Adam Massey
Business Education, Greer High
Total Years of Teaching Experience - 6
Education – Bachelor’s - Business Administration, University of South Carolina; Master’s - Education, University of Georgia
Libba Mattison
Forensics and Physical Science, J. L. Mann High Academy
Total Years of Teaching Experience – 7.5
Education – Bachelor’s - Biology, Presbyterian College; Master’s - Natural Science, Converse College
Clint Nalley,
7th Grade Science, Bryson Middle
Total Years of Teaching Experience – 6
Education – Bachelor’s - Biology, University of South Carolina Spartanburg; Master’s - Forest Resources, Clemson University
Alyson Nelson - Click to enlarge Kim Phillips - Click to enlarge Tom Rogers - Click to enlarge Mandy Waters - Click to enlarge Jan Woodward - Click to enlarge.
Alyson Nelson,
Anatomy, Physiology & Biology, Mauldin High
Total Years of Teaching Experience - 6
Education –Bachelor’s - Science Teaching, Clemson University; Master’s - Educational Technology, Boise State University
Kim Phillips
Special Education Resource, Bethel Elementary
Total Years of Teaching Experience - 12
Education – Bachelor’s - Elementary Education, Clemson University
Tom Rogers
Physics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Southside High Academy
Total Years of Teaching Experience – 18.5
Education – Bachelor’s - Mechanical Engineering, Arizona State University; Master’s - Business Administration, Clemson University
Mandy Waters
1st Grade, Westcliffe Elementary
Total Years of Teaching Experience - 3
Education – Bachelor’s - Early Childhood Education, North Greenville University
Jan Woodward
Honors Dance, Fine Arts Center
Total Years of Teaching Experience – 24
Education – Bachelor’s - English with Dance Major, Florida State University; Master’s in Fine Arts - Dance, Florida State University

The process of selecting the ten finalists began last fall when schools and centers selected their individual Teacher of the Year.  These teachers submitted applications which addressed their educational history and professional development, a professional biography, community involvement, philosophy of teaching, education issues and trends, the teaching profession, and a personal message to educators and the general public. 

Applications were reviewed by a Screening Committee and a Selection Committee.  The Selection Committee will choose the next Teacher of the Year after participating in classroom observations and individual interviews with the ten finalists.  The announcement naming Greenville County’s 2013-14 Teacher of the Year will be made in August.

The members of the Selection Committee are Dr. Temi Bidjerano, Furman University; Mrs. Margie Crowley, former Greenville County Schools Teacher of the Year; Mr. Herb Johnson, Michelin North America; Dr. Betty McConaghy, retired school administrator; and Mr. Tobin Wolverton, The Rotary Club of Greenville.

Share this article on Facebook Share this article on Twitter Email this page. Print this page.

More Stories