Posted: Thursday, May 5, 2016

The South Carolina Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (SCPASS) science and social studies tests will be administered to students in grades 4 - 8 beginning on Wednesday, May 11.  Students in grades 4 - 8 are required to participate in testing except those who qualify for the South Carolina Alternative Assessment (SC-ALT).  Tests may be administered via paper/pencil or an online testing format. Schools will notify parents of the type of format and the testing schedule which will be administered at your child’s school.

SCPASS has been designed to assess higher levels of learning as well as basic skills.  Students are asked questions that test their knowledge and skills in a variety of ways.  SCPASS tests are untimed for each day of testing; however, each session must be completed during a single day unless the student has an IEP, 504 Plan, or ESOL accommodation plan specifying administration of a single test over several days.

Three performance levels will be reported when results are released.  The levels are:

  • Exemplary (the student demonstrated exemplary performance in meeting the grade level standard)
  • Met (the student met the grade level standard)
  • Not Met (the student did not meet the grade level standard)

Testing Tips

Students should:

  • Rest on the nights before these tests. 
  • Eat a nourishing breakfast on the morning of each test.
  • Be in school and on time, except in cases of illness.
  • Bring at least two #2 pencils to school.  They are required for marking test answer documents.
  • Listen attentively to the teacher’s directions so he/she will know exactly what to do.
  • Read each test question and each response carefully before marking an answer choice.
  • Stay calm, if there are questions that seem difficult.
  • Mark his/her best answer.
  • Refrain from bringing any electronic device that can be used for communicating, timing, or imaging into the testing location.

Parents should:

  • Meet with your child’s teachers as often as necessary to discuss his/her progress. 
  • Check or review your child’s homework, projects, or other school work.
  • Ask teachers to suggest activities for you and your child to do at home to help prepare for tests and to improve your child’s understanding of schoolwork.
  • Talk with your child about school.
  • Provide positive feedback by praising your child for what he/she does well.

Share this article on Facebook Share this article on Twitter Email this page. Print this page.

More Stories