Posted: Monday, August 12, 2013

Beth LeavittBeth Leavitt, a science teacher at Wade Hampton High, has been selected a South Carolina Finalist for the 2014 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Ms. Leavitt has taught in Greenville County Schools since 1999 and is one of five secondary teachers eligible to receive a PAEMST award, the nation’s highest honor for K-12 mathematics and science teachers.  The awards program is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of The White House.

Leavitt is actively involved as a mentor with award-winning FIRST Robotics Team EnTech 281. In addition, she presents planetarium programs at Roper Mountain Science Center and teaches summer science camps. She was a Top Ten Teacher of the Year in 2006 and a semi-finalist for NASA Educator in Space in 2004, enabling her to work closely with NASA over the years.  As a State Finalist, there are numerous recognition opportunities including working with the SC Board of Education, The Science Teachers Conference, and others.

Each year, a national committee of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators recommend up to 108 teachers to receive PAEMST awards – up to one mathematics teacher and one science teacher from each state. Teachers who are selected as PAEMST awardees receive a $10,000 award, a Presidential citation, and a trip to Washington, D.C. for recognition events.

Email this page. Print this page.

More Stories