Posted: Wednesday, January 9, 2013

21 Greenville County Schools Teachers Achieve National Board Certification

Greenville County Schools announces the addition of 21 new National Board Certified (NBC) teachers, one of the teaching profession’s most respected achievements. With 646 teachers who have achieved National Board Certification, Greenville County Schools ranks 14th in the nation out of more than 14,000 school districts (based on most recent data) for total number of NBC teachers.  South Carolina ranks third in the nation with 8,436 NBC teachers, trailing only North Carolina and Florida.

Greenville County Schools is fortunate to have these outstanding educators among our staff,” said District Superintendent W. Burke Royster. “The process of becoming National Board Certified requires them to meet rigorous standards while gaining valuable knowledge they will use to improve the quality of their classroom teaching.”

National Board Certification was created so teachers, like professionals in other fields, can achieve distinction by demonstrating through a demanding performance assessment they meet high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do.

Teachers seeking National Board Certification undertake a two-part process that takes from one to three years to complete. The process requires candidates to reflect on their classroom practices, their understanding of subject material, and their preparation techniques.  In addition to preparing a portfolio with video recordings of classroom teaching, lesson plans, student work samples and reflective essays, teachers must complete assessment center exercises based on content knowledge that prove they have mastered the subjects they teach and met the high standards for accomplished teaching.

Greenville County Schools - 2013 National Board Certified Teachers

Anita Ayers
Fourth Grade
Mountain View Elementary School

Angela Bruce
Lakeview Middle School

Sharon Clyborne
First Grade
Simpsonville Elementary School

Darlene Currier
Third Grade
Sara Collins Elementary School

Kelly Curry
Second Grade 
Oakview Elementary School

Jennifer Foster
First Grade
Bethel Elementary School

Charles Fox 
Career/Technical Ed. 
Eastside High School

Brian Gencarelli
Mauldin Middle School

Kelly Cooper Gregory
Special Education
Berea Middle School

Kimberly Gregory
Second Grade
Monarch Elementary School

Jillian Grimsley
Fifth Grade
Stone Elementary Academy

Jenniffer Grinstead
Fifth Grade
Sue Cleveland Elementary School

Kerry McCarthy Gulyas
Fifth Grade
Duncan Chapel Elementary School

Melody Linaman
Woodland Elementary School

Latonya Little
Special Education
Southside High Academy

Beth Mahon
Mitchell Road Elementary School

Paula Prince
Woodland Elementary

Rex Smith
League Middle Academy

Lori Stowe
Fifth Grade
Mitchell Road Elementary School

Katherine Varghese
Wade Hampton High School

Sherryan Yarbrough
Blythe Elementary Academy

Share this article on Facebook Share this article on Twitter Email this page. Print this page.

More Stories