The Academic Common Market

The Academic Common Market (ACM), which is administered by the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB), allows for South Carolina residents who are enrolled in specific programs at out-of-state institutions to be charged only the applicable in-State tuition by the institution in which the student is enrolled. Eligible programs are those programs, which are at least 50 percent different in curricular content than programs offered in South Carolina. Participating states are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia (Florida, North Carolina and Texas participate only at the graduate level).

A student must be accepted into the specific program desired on a full-time basis and must complete the South Carolina residency form. When the completed form is returned to this office, a copy of the letter of acceptance into the program from the institution must be attached. If we determine that the student is a State resident on the basis of information submitted, we will write a letter of certification to the student and provide a copy to the appropriate official at the institution. This will qualify the student for a waiver of out-of-state fees.

If you are interested in a program, which is not on our current list of available programs, you can request that we review the program. You would need to send us the following information: a copy of your letter of acceptance into the specific program, the completed residency certification form, and curricular information about the program including course descriptions and credit hour requirements. Remember, though, that the ACM guidelines stipulate that only programs that are 50 percent different in curricular content from programs offered in the State can be included.  Since the list of programs offered through the Academic Common Market is frequently updated, visit Southern Regional Education Board for the most recent list.

South Carolina Commission on Higher Education
Academic Common Market Program
1333 Main Street, Suite 200
Columbia, SC  29201
(803) 737-2274