Posted: Tuesday, January 5, 2016

Seated, l to r: Pat Sudduth, Glenda Morrison-Fair, Joy Grayson, Lisa Wells, Derek Lewis, Lynda Leventis-Wells.  Standing, l to r: Debi Bush, Dr. Crystal Ball O’Connor, Kenneth Baxter, Roger Meek, Danna Rohleder, Chuck Saylors.In January, we salute our 12 school board members during South Carolina School Board Recognition Month. This year’s theme, “Service from the Heart,” recognizes school board members as leaders, advocates, and public servants to the students and staff of Greenville County Schools.

As the elected/appointed representatives of the people in their local communities, they represent their local communities’ voice and vision for public schools.

GCS Board members hold leadership positions both within and outside the district. They develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues impacting the entire community. The School Board oversees the governance of a school district that serves more than 76,000 students and employs about 10,000.

School Board Recognition Month is an annual event sponsored by Greenville County Schools and the South Carolina School Boards Association. More than 600 locally elected and appointed school board members throughout the state will be recognized for their service and dedication to public education. 

2016 Greenville County Schools’ Board of Trustees

Email this page. Print this page.

More Stories