MMS Teacher of the Year

Each year, a teacher is chosen to represent Mauldin Middle School at the district level.
This person is selected by the MMS faculty in recognition of his or her outstanding teaching ability.

Mrs. Erica AikenErica Aiken: 2020-21 MMS Teacher of the Year

2020-2021 MMS Teacher of the Year

Erica Aiken is starting her 14th year of her teaching career.  She spent her first 8 years teaching 6th grade Math at Lakeside Middle School in Anderson School District Five before moving to Mauldin Middle School. She knew she wanted to be a teacher for as long as she can remember. She was inspired by her 7th and 8th grade math teachers to teach math; their hands-on approach to teaching taught her that math could be fun. Erica's goal each year is to help students enjoy coming to school and enjoy learning math. The best compliment a student can give her is “I used to hate math, but you’ve helped me see that it can be fun.” 

Congratulations, Mrs. Aiken! You have inspired many students to enjoy learning math.



Past Teachers of the Year

2020-2021: Erica Aiken

2019-20: Megan Sutherland

2018-19: Amy Pearson

2017-18: Kenia Warren

2016-17: Christy Batson

2015-16: Meg Black

2014-15: Brian Harris

2013-14: Kathy Beck

2012-13: Gwen Hyer

2011-12: Stewart Mathis

2010-11: Jim Kilgus


2009-10: Keith Finch

2008-09: Gwen Shealy

2007-08: Lindsay Sanders

2006-07: Susan Jamison

2005-06: Tonya Woods

2004-05: Ann Twitchell

2003-04: Vanessa Rhodes

2002-03: Jennifer Garrett

2001-02: Laura Hervey

2000-01: Pam Barefoot