School Improvement Council

South Carolina initiated School Improvement Councils through legislation as a means of restoring the influential voice of parents and community members in public education. Each public school in South Carolina has a School Improvement Council that is responsible for planning, monitoring, and evaluating improvement at the school level. The School Improvement Council at Stone Academy has the following responsibilities:

Statewide Recognition for Stone Academy School Improvement Council

The Dick and Tunky Riley School Improvement Award was created by the SC-SIC Board of Trustees in honor of former SC Governor and US Secretary of Education Richard W. Riley and his wife, Tunky, in 2002. The annual award recognizes School Improvement Councils for outstanding achievement and civic engagement on behalf of their school. The Stone Academy SIC was proud to be recognized as one of 16 Honor Roll awardees statewide (and one of only two within the Greenville County School District) for our work during the 2007-2008 school year.

SC SIC Website

School Improvement Council Members

Members of the Stone Academy School Improvement Council include parents, faculty, community members, and ex-officio members. Names are listed below

Elected Parents
Josh Morris, Chair
Bruce Byford
Robin Blackwood
Amy Faulkenberry
Allen Fretwell
Tommy Wilkinson
Elected Teachers
Cathy Dodson
Bonnie McClain
Jean Thomas
Alice Littlejohn
Appointed Community
Connie Buto
Jonathan Jones
Fran Mauney
Susan Shi
Linda Tassie
Ex-Officio Members
Brett Vaughn (Principal)
Suzanne Shouse( Asst. Principal)
Brooke Howard (Guidance)
Cameron Patton (IC)
Suzy Dover (Instr. Tech. Coach )
Sandy Fruth (PTA Co-Pres)
Caroline Fritz (PTA Co-Pres)
Emily Kirkpatrick (ABC Grant Coord.)
Ed Buffington (Past SIC chair)
Jenn Byford (Past PTA Pres)
Nell Stewart (community)

School Improvement Plan

Stone Academy School Portfolio

Each Spring the faculty, with input from the School Improvement Council, establishes school wide goals for the next year. These are reflected in our School Portfolio, a comprehensive document developed by every Greenville County Public School.