School Improvement Council

South Carolina initiated School Improvement Councils through legislation as a means of restoring the influential voice of parents and community members in public education. Each public school in South Carolina has a School Improvement Council that is responsible for planning, monitoring, and evaluating improvement at the school level. The School Improvement Council at Stone Academy has the following responsibilities:

Statewide Recognition for Stone Academy School Improvement Council

The Dick and Tunky Riley School Improvement Award was created by the SC-SIC Board of Trustees in honor of former SC Governor and US Secretary of Education Richard W. Riley and his wife, Tunky, in 2002. The annual award recognizes School Improvement Councils for outstanding achievement and civic engagement on behalf of their school. The Stone Academy SIC was proud to be recognized as one of 16 Honor Roll awardees statewide (and one of only two within the Greenville County School District) for our work during the 2007-2008 school year.

SC SIC Website

2015-2016 School Improvement Council

Members of the Stone Academy School Improvement Council include parents, faculty, community members, and ex-officio members. Names are listed below

School Improvement Council 2015–2016

Ed Buffington, Chair             allez117@gmail.com

Bruce Byford                      bbyford67@att.net

Stephanie Burnette             sburnettehome@yahoo.com

Kevin Willmot                      kevinwillmot@gmail.com

Alice Littlejohn                     alittlej@greenville.k12.sc.us 

Sarah Knight                       sknight@greenville.k12.sc.us

Bonnie McClain                   bmclain@greenville.k12.sc.us

Jean Thomas                      jthomas@greenville.k12.sc.us

Cathy Dodson                     cdodson@greenville.k12.sc.us

Connie Buto                         conniebuto@gmail.com

Jonathan Jones                   jjones@greenvillesc.gov

Nell Stewart                         nel561stew@aol.com

Susan Shi                            susan.shi@furman.edu

Bert Medlock                       bert_63@yahoo.com

Brooke Howard                   kbhoward@greenville.k12.sc.us

Cameron Patton                  cmillsap@greenville.k12.sc.us

Brett Vaughn                          brettvaughn@greenville.k12.sc.us

Jana Heroman                     jheroman@live.com          

Suzanne Shouse                sshouse@greenville.k12.sc.us 

Suzy Dover                         sdover@greenville.k12.sc.us

School Improvement Plan

Stone Academy School Portfolio

Each Spring the faculty, with input from the School Improvement Council, establishes school wide goals for the next year. These are reflected in our School Portfolio, a comprehensive document developed by every Greenville County Public School.