Freshman Academy

Academy LogoThe Freshman Academy Newsletter

What is a Freshman Academy?

Small Learning Community with….

WHS Freshman Academy Promotes and Pursues:

Purpose:

The purpose of the Woodmont High School Freshman Academy is to reduce the ninth grade dropout and failure rates. Nationwide, results show that the dropout and failure rates among ninth graders are severely high. The failure or success of a student's ninth grade year usually determines if he or she will graduate from high school.

Freshman Academy Fast Facts

Freshman Academy Goals

  1. Providing structure to freshmen as they adjust to their new surroundings.
  2. Teachers will get to know their students better.
  3. Students will feel a greater sense of belonging to our school.
  4. Research shows that attendance for freshmen improves.
  5. Communication regarding students both within school and to home will increase.
  6. With more focus on freshmen needs within the school, behavior problems decrease.
  7. Teachers will have common planning times so they can communicate lesson plans and concerns relating to various students.
  8. With common planning, a meeting with a student and/or parents can be made to meet with the academy teachers.

Freshman Academy Photo Gallery

Freshman Academy Teachers

SCIENCE

 

 

Ashley Jeffcoat

anjeffcoat@greenville.k12.sc.us

Website

Rachel Ginn

rginn@greenville.k12.sc.us 

 

Jacob Bartell

jbartell@greenville.k12.sc.us 

 

SOCIAL STUDIES

 

 

Bill Horn

whorn@greenville.k12.sc.us

Website

Scott Mann

smann@greenville.k12.sc.us

Website

Nick Elliott

nelliott@greenville.k12.sc.us

Website

     

ENGLISH

 

 

Carrie McCaslin

cmccaslin@greenville.k12.sc.us

Website

Fabiana Lopez

flopez@greenville.k12.sc.us

Website

Katrina Lattimore

klattimore@greenville.k12.sc.us

Website

MATH

 

 

Bill Anderson

 wanderson@greenville.k12.sc.us

 

Marcia Davis

madavis@greenville.k12.sc.us

Website

Pamela Jordan

pjordan@greenville.k12.sc.us

Website

SUPPORT

 

 

Marinda McRae - School Counselor

mlmcrae@greenville.k12.sc.us

 

Chuck Winney - Academy Administrator

cwinney@greenville.k12.sc.us