Science Department

The science program at Riverside is designed to meet the needs of all students whether they plan to enter the work force or to enter college upon graduation. In the latest publication addressing the focus on the high school curriculum, the South Carolina Department of Education states, "Though only three courses are required for graduation, the Department of Education recommends four courses because students need the foundational skills of physical science to be successful in all other science courses."(p.7)Referring to this publication, many state supported colleges and universities also require three units of laboratory science to be selected from biology, chemistry, physics or a laboratory science for which biology and/or chemistry is a prerequisite (p.8).Furthermore,the most recent State Regulation R43-234 as of fall 2004 from the State Department of Education cites that starting with the freshman class of 2005-2006,all students will complete physical science by the end of the 10th grade. An end-of-course examination in physical science and biology (counts 20%of the final grade) is required. Additionally, the HSAP will contain a science subtest within the next five years. Students should develop a four-year course of study plan to include the science courses which address their interests, motivation and preparation; therefore, the science department offers variations of traditional high school science courses.

Vickie Bartlett
Vickie Bartlett
Teacher
dbartlett@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Vickie Bartlett

Lindsey Beam
Lindsey Beam
Teacher
ljbeam@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Lindsey Beam

Karen Becker
Karen Becker
Teacher /Department Chair
kbgilles@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Karen Becker

Benjamin Eldridge
Benjamin Eldridge
Teacher
bjeldridge@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Benjamin Eldridge

William Frierson
William Frierson
Teacher
wfrierson@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - William Frierson

David Hickman
David Hickman
Teacher
dhickman@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - David Hickman

No Photo
Ben Horne
Teacher
bhorne@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Ben Horne

Marley  McDonough
Marley  McDonough
Teacher
mamcdonough@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Marley  McDonough

Kim Pauls
Kim Pauls
Teacher
kpauls@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Kim Pauls

Mary Grace Pineda
Mary Grace Pineda
Teacher
mfpineda@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Mary Grace Pineda

Amy Pruitt
Amy Pruitt
Teacher
apruitt@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Amy Pruitt

Bryan Woody
Bryan Woody
Teacher
bwoody@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Bryan Woody

Cheryl Youmans
Cheryl Youmans
Teacher
cyoumans@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Cheryl Youmans