Counseling Department

The Mauldin High School Counseling Department is available to assist students and parents with various concerns. If you need to contact the Counseling Department, you may do so by using the appropriate e-mail address provided below or contacting guidance by phone at 864-355-6655 or by fax at 864-355-6645. Before calling, please use the tabs above to search for desired information.

Counseling Department Staff

Connie Allred
Registrar
355-6502
callred@greenville.k12.sc.us

Lu Bigalke
Counselor, 11-12 P - Z
355-6523
lbigalke@greenville.k12.sc.us

Cecilia Brown
Clerk
355-7320
cebrown@greenville.k12.sc.us

Chuck Childs
Director
355-6504
cchilds@greenville.k12.sc.us

Mandy Dewitt-Chandley
Receptionist
355-6655
adewittchandley@greenville.k12.sc.us

Barbara Hendricks
Receptionist
355-6655
bhendricks@greenville.k12.sc.us

Tamaran Hightower
Counselor, 11-12 A - G
355-6521
thightower@greenville.k12.sc.us

Gwen Hyer
Counselor, 9-10 E - K
355-6601
ghyer@greenville.k12.sc.us

Marina Lewis
Special Projects
355-6661
mlewis@greenville.k12.sc.us

Reggie Patterson
Counselor, 9-10 S - Z
355-6524
repatterson@greenville.k12.sc.us

Jill Purcell
Counselor, 9-10 A - D
355-6631
jpurcell@greenville.k12.sc.us

Cheryl Scott
Counselor, 9-10 L - R
355-7321
cscott@greenville.k12.sc.us

Courtney Vaughn
Special Projects
355-6667
covaughn@greenville.k12.sc.us

Elaine Wofford
Counselor, 11-12 H - O
355-6520
ewofford@greenville.k12.sc.us

Components of a Comprehensive School Counseling Program

The Mauldin High School Counseling Department provides a comprehensive school counseling program that consists of the following components:

1. Guidance Curriculum – Structured developmental experiences presented systematically through classroom and small group activities.
a. Purpose – student awareness, skill development, and skill application
b. Areas Addressed – personal/social development, academic development, and career development.

2. Individual Planning – Activities that help all students plan, monitor, and manage their own learning as well as their personal and career development.
a. Purpose – student planning and goal setting
b. Areas Addressed

i. Personal and Social Planning: healthy self concepts, short and long term goals
ii. Academic Planning: study skills, academic requirements and opportunities, test requirements and use of test scores, appropriate course selection, lifelong learning
iii. Career Planning: labor market information, preparation requirements and opportunities, job options

3. Responsive Services – Activities that meet the immediate needs and concerns of students
a. Purpose – prevention and intervention
b. Areas Addressed

i. Academic Concerns – study skills
ii. School-related Concerns – tardiness, absences, misconduct, dropouts
iii. Personal Concerns – social and family relationships, grief/loss/death, substance abuse, stress

4. System Support – Management activities that establish, maintain, and enhance the total program.
a. Purpose – program delivery and support
b. Areas Addressed

i. Guidance Program Development
ii. Parent Education
iii. Teacher and Administrator Consultation
iv. Staff development for educators
v. School improvement planning
vi. Counselor’s professional development
vii. Research and publishing
viii. Community outreach
ix. Public relations

Senior Information
Popular Guidance Links
Remind 101 Instructions
Guidance Presentations & Newsletters
Report Card Schedule
QuarterProgress Reports Report Cards
1st Quarter9/21/2017 11/06/2017
2nd Quarter 11/29/2017 1/23/2018
3rd Quarter 2/20/2018 3/29/2018
4th Quarter 5/03/2018 6/08/2018

Guidance News
Important Graduation Information

This year Bon Secours Wellness Arena will be enforcing a clear bag policy for all Greenville County School District Graduation Ceremonies. Please see the picture provided for information on what type of bags will be allowed. This applies to both students and guests.

Additional information about the clear bag policy can be found on Bon Secour's website.

Senior Letter - Please Read

Graduation is almost here, and we are all beginning to feel the excitement. This is the most important time of the year for our future graduates. We are sharing the information in this letter so that both parents/guardians and students will be aware of all the important dates and expectations for the Class of 2018 as we conclude the year. Be sure to read the senior letter and reference the many topics shared as we move toward graduation day. Do not hesitate to reach out to us with any questions.

Final Exam Schedule

The Spring Exam Schedule is now available. More details about bell schedules, etc. will be posted at a later time.

Students and parents are reminded that no early dismissals are allowed during an exam time. Missed exams may only be made up with a medical excuse or principal approval.