Counseling Department

The Mauldin High School Counseling Department is available to assist students and parents with various concerns. If you need to contact the Counseling Department, you may do so by using the appropriate e-mail address provided below or contacting guidance by phone at 864-355-6655 or by fax at 864-355-6645. Before calling, please use the tabs above to search for desired information.

Counseling Department Staff
Connie Allred
Connie Allred
Registrar
355-6502
callred@greenville.k12.sc.us
Lu Bigalke
Lu Bigalke
Counselor, 9-12 Q - St
355-6523
lbigalke@greenville.k12.sc.us
Cecilia Brown
Cecilia Brown
Clerk
355-7320
cebrown@greenville.k12.sc.us
Chuck Childs
Chuck Childs
Director
355-6504
cchilds@greenville.k12.sc.us
No Image Available
Mandy Dewitt-Chandley
Receptionist
355-6655
adewittchandley@greenville.k12.sc.us
Barbara Hendricks
Barbara Hendricks
Receptionist
355-6655
bhendricks@greenville.k12.sc.us
Tamaran Hightower
Tamaran Hightower
Counselor, 9-12 Ce - Fi
355-6521
thightower@greenville.k12.sc.us
Gwen Hyer
Gwen Hyer
Counselor, 9-12 Fl - H
355-6601
ghyer@greenville.k12.sc.us
Marina Lewis
Marina Lewis
Special Projects
355-6661
mlewis@greenville.k12.sc.us
Reggie Patterson
Reggie Patterson
Counselor, 9-12 Su - Z
355-6524
repatterson@greenville.k12.sc.us
Jill Purcell
Jill Purcell
Counselor, 9-12 A - Ca
355-6631
jpurcell@greenville.k12.sc.us
Cheryl Scott
Cheryl Scott
Counselor, 9-12 McD - P
355-7321
cscott@greenville.k12.sc.us
Elaine Wofford
Elaine Wofford
Counselor, 9-12 I - McC
355-6520
ewofford@greenville.k12.sc.us

Components of a Comprehensive School Counseling Program

The Mauldin High School Counseling Department provides a comprehensive school counseling program that consists of the following components:

1. Guidance Curriculum – Structured developmental experiences presented systematically through classroom and small group activities.
a. Purpose – student awareness, skill development, and skill application
b. Areas Addressed – personal/social development, academic development, and career development.

2. Individual Planning – Activities that help all students plan, monitor, and manage their own learning as well as their personal and career development.
a. Purpose – student planning and goal setting
b. Areas Addressed

i. Personal and Social Planning: healthy self concepts, short and long term goals
ii. Academic Planning: study skills, academic requirements and opportunities, test requirements and use of test scores, appropriate course selection, lifelong learning
iii. Career Planning: labor market information, preparation requirements and opportunities, job options

3. Responsive Services – Activities that meet the immediate needs and concerns of students
a. Purpose – prevention and intervention
b. Areas Addressed

i. Academic Concerns – study skills
ii. School-related Concerns – tardiness, absences, misconduct, dropouts
iii. Personal Concerns – social and family relationships, grief/loss/death, substance abuse, stress

4. System Support – Management activities that establish, maintain, and enhance the total program.
a. Purpose – program delivery and support
b. Areas Addressed

i. Guidance Program Development
ii. Parent Education
iii. Teacher and Administrator Consultation
iv. Staff development for educators
v. School improvement planning
vi. Counselor’s professional development
vii. Research and publishing
viii. Community outreach
ix. Public relations

Senior Information
Popular Guidance Links
Remind 101 Instructions
Guidance Presentations & Newsletters
Report Card Schedule
QuarterProgress Reports Report Cards
1st Quarter9/17/2018 10/30/2018
2nd Quarter 11/27/2018 1/23/2019
3rd Quarter 2/13/2019 4/02/2019
4th Quarter 4/30/2019 6/07/2019

Guidance News
School Counseling Department Re-organization

In an effort to better serve our students, the Mauldin High School Counseling Department is re-organizing and changing students’ counselor assignments. Each counselor will work with one portion of the alphabet for students in grades 9 through 12. This way students will keep the same counselor for all four years while in high school in an effort to get to know students and parents better. Visit the Counseling Department webpage to see the new counselor assignments effective July 1, 2018.